FCI Announce Results of Council Elections

The Faculty is pleased to announce the election of a new Chair of Council and Council members

After a closely run contest, the new Chair voted in by the ballot of Fellows and Members is Jonathan Kay.

Jonathan spent most of his career as a chemical pathologist in Oxford. He has also been Professor of Health Informatics at University College London and City University London and Clinical Informatics Director at NHS England. 

He is the founding Vice Chair of the Faculty’s Council, and Chair of the Board of Trustees which he will now vacate (and he’s going to have less time to spend on outreach to schools, acting, and walking and cycling!).

“Thank you for electing me as Chair of Council. And congratulations to all of the new Members of Council.  I’ll do my best to follow the leadership of John Williams (and, indeed, John Williams) in developing the Faculty to meet the needs of patients and professionals. This will only succeed if Fellows, Members and Associates offer their help and support.”
Odoo • Text and Image

Jonathan takes over from John Williams.

“I am delighted that Jonathan has been elected as my successor.  He has been very actively involved with our Trustee Board and of course, since the start, also the Faculty Exec so is very well informed about FCI matters. I wish him well in his new role and am sure that the Faculty will be in safe hands. With his steer the Faculty is set to continue to grow and to flourish as it enters an exciting phase where it will increase its involvement in educational events, professional development, projects and many other activities”

Eighteen fellows were nominated for the eight seats available on Council.  In the ballot, 6 new Council members were elected and 2 Council members re-elected. Current Executive members will remain on Council until 2021. Dates in brackets below denote end of term in office for Council.

The Council members are:

Jonathan Kay (Chairman, 2023)

Mahmood Adil (2022)

Mahmood is Medical Director of Public Health Scotland, National Clinical Data & Digital Lead of Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh and a doctor with over 25 years of medical, public health, executive management & policy experience in the NHS and USA.

Anne Marie Cunningham (2022)

Anne Marie is currently Associate Medical Director for Primary Care, NHS Wales Informatics Service, and also a practicing GP in the South Wales Valleys. She believes that multidisciplinary teams, and patients and carers, must be active participants in healthcare informatics.

Arjun Dhillon (2022)

Arjun is Clinical Director and Caldicott Guardian at NHS Digital and a qualified GP. He has previously been Chair of the Royal College of General Practitioners Health Informatics Group (RCGP HIG) and Joint GP IT Committee (JGPITC).

Alan Hassey (2022)

Alan is a member of the RCGP Health Informatics Group (HIG), past chair of HIG and the Joint GP IT Committee of the BMA & RCGP, and a member of Dame Fiona Caldicott’s National Data Guardian Panel. He is Chair of the FCI Education & Standards Committee and is leading the Faculty’s Core Competencies Project.

Lydia Jidkov (2022)

Lydia is a practicing clinician who is currently Digital Transformation Senior Consultant at Atos. Lydia was previously Programme Lead at the NHS Digital Academy and is a consultant on the Faculty Core Competencies for Clinical Informaticians project.

Maggie Lay (2022)

Maggie is Clinical Informatics Lead and Clinical Safety Officer at South Central and West CSU, and a Registered Nurse with over 25 years of clinical experience, mostly in community settings. Maggie is joint lead of the Faculty Diagnosis Recording Special Interest Group.

Joe McDonald (2022)

Joe is a practicing Consultant Psychiatrist and Deputy Medical Director / Chief Clinical Information Officer at Northumberland, Tyne and Wear NHS Foundation Trust. Joe also works as Director of Connected Health Cities, North East and North Cumbria, and has previously been Medical Director at NTW and a National Clinical IT Lead.

Dermot O’Riordan (2022)

Dermot is a consultant surgeon at West Suffolk NHS Foundation Trust as well as Chief Clinical Information Officer, responsible for delivering their e-Care integrated electronic health record project.

Dr John Williams (2021)

John is a GP retired after 30 years, currently working as Senior Clinical Research Fellow in Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences, University of Surrey. He is past Chair of the Faculty and a member of the Faculty Trustee board (term ending 2022).

Nick Booth (Hon. Treasurer, 2021)

Nick is a visiting professor of practice in the School of Computing Science at Newcastle University. He trained and practised as a GP in Northumberland from 1982-2013, and has been a health informatician since the late 1980s, as a GP, an academic, in industry, and in the Department of Health and HSCIC (Now NHS Digital). He is a member of the Faculty Trustee board (term ending 2022).

Paul Campbell (Hon. Secretary, 2021)

Paul qualified initially as a Pharmacist before switching to Medicine and becoming a Consultant Anaesthetist. He is currently Clinical Director for eHealth for NHS National Services Scotland and a Clinical Advisor to the Scottish Government eHealth Department. He is a member of the Faculty Trustee board (term ending 2022).

The Faculty would like to thank the current Council for their amazing support over the past two years at a crucial time in the Faculty’s development.  Without this the Faculty would not have been able to make the progress which it has in so many areas.

The current Council will remain in post until the next Council meeting, which will be held on 11 June 2020, at which point there will be a handover to the new Council. After this point, our Governance website page will be updated with bios of the new Council members.

The Faculty would like to thank all members who stood for election and all fellows and members who voted.  We would like to offer many congratulations to Council members and our new Chair. We look forward to working closely together and to the next stage in the Faculty’s development.